Hal Higdon is my trainer.

Well, not exactly. But I am using his novice marathon plan as the basis for my training.

My main reference.

When I ran the Baton Rouge Beach Half-Marathon last December, I looked to Hal’s novice 2 plan to structure my runs. This was important to me because I didn’t want to wait until race day and “just run it” as my husband suggested. I wanted to put in the miles ahead of time and train my flighty mind as well as my body. Hal’s (Mr Higdon?) novice 2 plan fit into my schedule at that time because I was attending classes on Tuesday and Thursday and wanted my long run to occur on Saturday. Assigning Monday and Friday as rest days was something I never saw before in training plans, but it was something I was eager to try.

The novice 2 marathon plan is geared to those who have been running for a while and are attempting their first marathon. This is the plan I chose. Tuesday and Thursday are 4-5 mile runs while Wednesday’s run steadily changes from 3 to 10 miles until taper week. Saturday’s long run increases in mileage over 3 week cycles with the longest training run at 20 miles. As written, the plan is 18 weeks long which is an ideal training length, but I jumped on board at week 11 after I took a week off from my half-marathon and then two weeks of holidaze. If you are new to running and want to knock “Finish a Marathon” off of your bucket list, I really recommend using Hal’s novice plan because of the way he helps you build a base for the miles.

There are a couple of ways that Hal can help you with your running goals: his website, his books, or his iPhone apps. He also has an interactive training program through Training Peaks; just pick a plan for your goal.

For Hal Higdon’s training programs on Training Peaks, click here.

For Hal Higdon’s official website, click here.

Stay motivated out there!

9 responses to “Hal Higdon is my trainer.

  1. Pingback: Finding The Right Pace | My Run is Not Done

  2. I actually also used Hal Higdon for my first marathon ever..and it was a great how to for a first marathon… Look forward to reading more about your running adventures!

  3. Jamie! I love this!!! Welcome to the blogging world =) Love the name you came up with!!!!!

  4. I’ve always wanted to run a marathon but so afraid. Thanks for the info about training. I will follow your journey & get my motivation from you!

    Pamela
    Still Dating My Spouse
    http://www.stilldatingmyspouse.wordpress.com

  5. Welcome to the blogging and marathoning world! It looks like you’re off to a great start – Good luck with your training and I look forward to reading about your running adventures. Happy Running!
    Tracie

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

