Last Call for King Cake

It’s Mardi Gras which means hurry and get your revelry in now! I’ve got 12 days left before my marathon, but more about that in another post! 🙂

This being my first Carnival season in Louisiana, I focused on the beauty of King Cake. A Mardi Gras tradition that honors the three kings, King Cake is typically a ring or oval-shaped that is covered with sugar crystals. Modern King Cakes include a plastic baby that is placed underneath the cake and whoever receives the slice with the baby is in charge of bringing King Cake to the next party.

I had my first taste of King Cake a month ago at a poker party and it was deliciously indulgent!

Louisiana Mardi Gras tradition

A delight for the stomach and eyes.

Don’t the color squiggles look fun? This was from a bakery in Lake Charles, a city that’s about 1 hour away from where I live and is much bigger (it has a Target!). The frosting and the cream cheese filling made for a sweet slice of King Cake. I didn’t get the baby.

After this King Cake, I was focused on finding another one to devour eat. Lucky for me, Wal-mart was selling boxes of King Cake mix so I grabbed one and got down to business.

Artisan stand mixer Depaul King Cake mix

Prepping the workspace for King Cake.

King Cake uses yeast so I had to let the dough rise once before rolling and baking. I love the chemistry behind baking bread; seeing the dough doubled in size always makes me smile.

Mama Depaul's King Cake

Homemade King Cake. Do you see the baby?

I had a lot of fun shaking the colored crystals on. This cake had a praline filling (mmm…pralines…) that wasn’t overly sweet.

King Cake

Rolled dough with praline filling

My most recent King Cake experience was with Sucre, a bakery/sweets shop in New Orleans. I love their macaroons and when I read that their King Cake was judged the best for 2012 by the Times Picayune, I placed an order. This is what arrived:

Mardi Gras, Fat Tuesday, dessert

King Cake, a Plastic Baby, and Beads. It's time to party!

After slicing into the cake and warming it in the microwave for 10 seconds, I found it to be delicate and subtly sweet. I like subtle flavor, but it tricks me and makes me want to get a second slice ASAP! So much for moderation…

Overall, Sucre’s King Cake was distinctive for its taste and style, but I liked my homemade cake more. I do recommend stopping by Sucre and sampling their chocolates, macaroons, or gelato if you’re ever in NOLA!

This year’s King Cake party was small, just me, husband, and puppy but I’m hoping next year’s will grow now that I’ve gained some baking confidence!

Happy Mardi Gras ya’ll! 

Mardi Gras, Fat Tuesday, Sucre, King Cake

Pretty art work that I plan to frame.

6 responses to “Last Call for King Cake

  1. I la loved New Orleans. We visited the spring before the hurricane. I want to go back. Good luck on your run. I will be thinking about you. My Daughter us running her first marathon in Los Angeles believe same weekend. I want to be at the end to greet her with her dad and two of her little girls. What do you think good idea?

    • Cindee, I think that’s an awesome idea! There’s nothing like seeing your loved ones at the finish line, I think. Thanks for the thoughts, I can’t wait to visit NOLA again.

  2. Happy Mardi Gras! I have never heard of Sucre. Hmmm. Looks as though it’s almost airbrushed with color. We loved Gambinos, Haydels, and even the king cake at Walmart when we were stationed down there. Either way, we LOVE king cake!!

    • Happy Mardi Gras Heidi! I’m not sure how new Sucre is, but it could’ve popped up after you guys were stationed there? I’ll have to look up your two bakeries when I’m in town for my marathon.

  3. I’m a Louisiana native and I’ve never attempted homemade King Cake! Maybe I will next year! Glad you’re enjoying your first Mardi Gras season!

    • Hey Ernise! I had a lot of fun making it. I noticed that the boxes were disappearing from the Wal-Mart display during the week so I decided to snatch one up and try!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

