Taper Week Shenanigans

My first marathon is right around the corner! I’ve been too excited and worrisome to write a proper post lately, but I do want to capture some shenanigans that my taper weeks brought.

1. Starting a taper week with a rolled ankle is one way of ensuring you slow down and take it easy, although not a preferred way. I curse those gravel paths with phantom hands.

2. Never underestimate the power of ice when your ankle is swollen! 20 minutes on, 40 minutes off, repeat 2 more times and let your puppy lick the cold bag while you sit on your butt! Your bones will thank you later!

3. A food journal is especially useful during taper week to show you just how much you’ve been eating now that you aren’t running as many miles. However, I didn’t do this so all I have to show for it are my nagging suspicions that I ate too much. Carb-loading in advance, right? 🙂

4. Making a proper packing list should be an activity during taper week so you can ensure all needed pre-race, race day, and post-race items are with you for your big event.

screenshot

The packing list that wasn't.

Sadly, I definitely didn’t do number 4 and am here in NOLA without my Garmin, foam roller, or massage stick. What was I thinking? Nothing, clearly. 😦 I was so upset with myself it took me awhile to get to sleep last night. I guess it will just be me and my old trusties: Timex and Nubby Ball.

watch, massage ball

Less fancy, but still effective when used right and with a touch of the Garden District in the background.

On a positive note, I am finally here in NOLA with John, our puppy, and John’s parents. I can’t wait to meet some #RunLA people with Claim Your Journey and I’m excited for the official RnRNOLA Social Media meet up hosted by KatieRunsThis! I can’t believe how fast time has gone by and within a few days, I’ll be able to say I ran a marathon… ::knock on wood, fingers crossed, break out lucky rabbit’s foot::

Happy Friday everyone! Can’t wait to share more about my 1st marathon!

3 responses to “Taper Week Shenanigans

  1. Pingback: My First Marathon: 2012 Rock and Roll New Orleans | My Run is Not Done

  2. Good luck this weekend! You’re going to rock the heck out of this marathon! Timex and Nubby Ball will get you through!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

