Goals, Crossfit, and the Liebster

I think I saw this coming. I wanted to start a blog about my marathon training (which I did) and then once my marathon happened (like wayyy over a month ago), I’d have to ask myself, what do I blog about now? So, please forgive me in advance if I deviate from running things and write more about life things of which I’m sure running will have a reoccurring role. 🙂

I was making headway into my three goals of adding speedwork, eating more roughage (salads and smoothies), and studying my anatomy notes until 1) I got a case of the lazybones and didn’t join today’s speed workout that some of my running friends planned; 2) I didn’t enjoy the mediocre blending that my Oster produced (cue Vitamix dreams); and 3) I read on the student doctor forums that the best way to prepare for OT school was to enjoy my time off right now.

While these are great excuses (right?), I flashback to my young cadet days and say to myself, “No excuses!” Or even to The Biggest Loser and Allison Sweeney saying the same to a row of contestants. Side note: This is the first time I’ve watched a season of BL; do they know how lucky they are?!

Bottom line: I gotta do a better job tomorrow of not giving in to excuses and stay on track with my goals. (Pardon me while I write this in big letters on my day planner.)

As for my running, I’ve started to lug around a handheld hydration bottle to prep for the possible heat during a 13.1’er on post in less than two weeks. My main goal for that race is to just enjoy it; finishing under 2 hours is a secondary goal. The rolling terrain and warmer weather create different conditions from my half-marathon in December so I’ll see how it all turns out. Trying not to worry about it too much. When I started to run 8 – 10 miles a couple of weeks after the marathon, my knees began to yell at me so icing and foam rolling have been a big priority lately. Sometimes, after I foam roll, I feel like I want to barf because it hurts to roll over the muscle.

I also sweated my way through my first Crossfit type fitness class at the gym yesterday. This wasn’t the kind of class that Reebok shows in their commercial (I always get pumped after watching that), but it did involve similar moves. 3 rounds of 50 walking lunges with a 25 pound plate overhead, 50 situps and 50 squats. I finished in 18:55. I almost didn’t go to the must-be-up-before-dawn class (5:15 AM), but the night before, I posted on Facebook that I would and woke up to 3 Facebook friends praising their love-hate for Crossfit. I didn’t want to feel guilty for not going, so I went. (Ah, peer pressure!) There were moments that I didn’t enjoy, say, after the first round of moves, and the last 5 reps of each exercise on the last round, but overall, I liked the change of pace and I felt that I was getting a good workout because I was breathing hard and sweating a lot. I’m gonna go back tomorrow for another dose.

Total body movement = sore body afterwards

Finally, I am awed and excited to receive the Liebster Award from my lovely blog friend, Suzanne at The Wine{a}be. Go check her out, she’s a wine lover and her adventures in California wine country sure do pique my wanderlust. Per Liebster Award protocol, I must:

1. Link back to the person who gave it to you…they deserve the love!
2. Post the award on your blog for all to see!
3. Give the award to 5 of your favorite bloggers … ideally with approximately 200 followers or less.
4. Leave a comment on your chosen {5} blogs to let them know that they have been given the Liebster award.

I subscribe to the blogs below via email and reader and look forward to reading their posts. They’re all engaging and inspiring women who are on their own fitness journey. I also have no idea for sure if they have less than 200 followers, but if the point is to reward the smaller blogs then I think I got it. It’s possible some might not be happy to receive the award and I promise, I’m not trying to tag you with something to do. Just trying to show some blog appreciation out there! 🙂

My Liebster ladies are:

1. Amy at Lavender Parking

2. Becca at Southernrunnergirl

3. Ernise at Giving Thought | Giving Sight

4. Megan at All Things New

5. Karla at Running on Eagle’s Wings

Please check them out!

Later y’all!

2 responses to “Goals, Crossfit, and the Liebster

  1. I’ve been meaning to try Cross-fit, but I’m kind of scared. I think you’re the first person to say that you didn’t completely die during the first class. You are a tough lady!

    AND THANK YOU for awarding me the Liebster!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

